Colorado: College and Career Policies

Must score a 4 or higher on the PARCC assessment in order to graduate.

90 hours of professional development, or 6 semester hours of coursework is required for administrator licensure renewal. All details are outlined in 2260.5-R-12.00 Renewal of Colorado Licenses.

Colorado was mandated to adopt PARCC under state law, ELA assessments in grades 3-11, mathematics assessments in grades 3-8, with three high school assessments, PARCC (2010)

Colorado updated the Dance and Theatre standards in 2009.

Colorado has not adopted any professional development standards.

Colorado updated the Visual Arts standards in 2009.

Colorado updated the Science standards in 2009.

The Colorado State Board has full authority to adopt assessments.

Colorado updated the Social Studies standards in 2014.

According to C.R.S. 22-9-104, the Colorado State Board of Education is tasked with promulgating guidelines relating to the planning, development, implementation, and assessment of a licensed personnel performance evaluation system that may be followed by each school district and board of cooperative services within the state. In promulgating said guidelines, the state board shall allow each school district and board of cooperative services to involve and consult with the licensed personnel and citizens of the school district or districts.

These rules are promulgated pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes section 22-2-107 (1) (c), section 22- 9-104 (2) and section 22-9-105.5 (10). Senate Bill 10-191, codified at section 22-9-101, C.R.S., et seq. creates a system to evaluate the effectiveness of licensed personnel in school districts and boards of cooperative services throughout the state as a means of improving the quality of education in Colorado.

The State Board of Education has full authority to adopt standards.

The Colorado State Board of Education oversees the Colorado teacher certification process and dictates the requirements needed in order to become certified within the state.

Different requirements are necessary for each type of license: initial, professional, and master.

In order to receive an initial teaching license in Colorado, an applicant must have earned a bachelor's degree, completed an approved teacher preparation program, and passed a state content assessment.

Colorado updated the World Languages standards in 2009.

The Colorado Commission on Higher Education approves the educator preparation programs, and the Colorado State Board of Education approves program content.

The State Board of Community Colleges and Occupational Education has authority over the adoption of Career and Technical Education Standards.

In order for a teacher preparation to be approved, the program must have a comprehensive admission system, continuing screening, in-depth coursework, 800 hours of field experience, and continual assessment.

Colorado updated the Reading, Writing, and Communicating standards in 2010. These standards are aligned to the Common Core State Standards.

Must score a 4 or higher on the PARCC assessment in order to graduate.

Colorado was mandated to adopt PARCC under state law, ELA assessments in grades 3-11, mathematics assessments in grades 3-8, with three high school assessments, PARCC (2010)

Colorado updated the Comprehensive Health and Physical Education standards in 2009.

Colorado updated the math standards in 2010. These standards are aligned to the Common Core State Standards.