Alabama - Content Standards: Career and Technical Education

Career and Technical Education
Policy Type: 
Year Adopted: 

Alabama updated the Career and Technical Education standards in 2008.


Alabama’s Career and Technical Education program is representative of the national career and technical education model. The national model includes sixteen career clusters. Career clusters in Alabama’s curriculum include courses that identify academic and technical knowledge and skills needed for students to pursue a wide range of career opportunities. Courses provide rigor and relevance for students by linking school-based learning with career-related experiences. Career clusters provide the framework for what students need to know and be able to do for success in the twenty-first century. The sixteen clusters included in this document are:

  • Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources
  • Architecture and Construction
  • Arts, Audio-Video Technology, and Communications
  • Business, Management, and Administration
  • Education and Training
  • Finance
  • Government and Public Administration
  • Health Science
  • Hospitality and Tourism
  • Human Services
  • Information Technology
  • Law, Public Safety, Corrections, and Security
  • Manufacturing
  • Marketing, Sales, and Service
  • Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
  • Transportation, Distribution, and Logistics
Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: