Alabama - Content Standards: Mathematics

Policy Type: 
Year Adopted: 

Content standards in Mathematics were originally developed in 2010. They are minimum and required (Code of Alabama, 1975, §16-35-4). They are aligned to the Common Core State Standards.


The organization of this course of study is based upon the eight CCSS Standards for Mathematical Practice and the six Principles for School Mathematics found in the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics’ (NCTM) document, Principles and Standards for School Mathematics (PSSM).

The eight CCSS standards―make sense of problems and persevere in solving them, reason abstractly and quantitatively, construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others, model with mathematics, use appropriate tools strategically, attend to precision, look for and make use of structure, and look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning―are depicted on the graphic as the foundational blocks of the mathematics program leading to goal achievement. These standards describe varieties of expertise that mathematics educators at all levels should seek to develop in their students.

The six NCTM principles―Equity, Curriculum, Teaching, Learning, Assessment, and Technology―build upon the foundation, forming the second level of blocks. They reflect basic tenets fundamental to the design of a quality mathematics program that allows all students the opportunity to reach their mathematical potential.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: