Arkansas - Content Standards: English Language Arts

English Language Arts
Policy Type: 
Year Adopted: 

Arkansas most recently updated the English Language Arts standards in 2014. These standards are aligned to the Common Core State Standards.


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) has utilized the services of WestEd and the Understanding Language Initiative at Stanford University to develop a new set of English Language Proficiency (ELP) Standards. The ELP Standards, developed for K, 1, 2-3, 4-5, 6-8, and 9-12 grades, highlight and amplify the critical language, knowledge about language, and skills using language that are in college-and-career-ready standards and that are necessary for English language learners (ELLs) to be successful in schools.

The 10 ELP Standards highlight a strategic set of language functions (what students do with language to accomplish content-specific
tasks) and language forms (vocabulary, grammar, and discourse specific to a particular content area or discipline) which are needed by ELLs as they develop competence in the practices associated with English language arts (ELA) & literacy, mathematics, and science (Bunch, Kiber, & Pimentel, 2013; CCSSO, 2012; Lee, Quinn, & Valdez, 2013; Moschkovich, 2012; van Lier & Walqui, 2012). The five ELP levels for each of the ELP Standards address the question, “What might an ELL’s language use look like at each ELP level as he or she progresses toward independent participation in grade-appropriate activities?”

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: