Idaho - Content Standards: English Language Arts

English Language Arts
Policy Type: 
Year Adopted: 

Idaho updated the English language arts standards in 2011. These standards are aligned to the Common Core State Standards.


The Idaho English Language Arts/Literacy Standards are broken into four (4) strands: reading, writing, speaking and listening, and language. In each strand there are overarching College and Career Readiness Standards for each grade level. These standards call for a change in instructional practice to ensure proper implementation of strong, consistent, cohesive work for the benefit of our Idaho Students. Additionally, there are delineated grade specific expectations for each College and Career Readiness Standard.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: