New Mexico - Content Standards: Arts (Performing)

Arts (Performing)
Policy Type: 
Year Adopted: 

New Mexico updated the visual and performing arts standards in 2009. These standards include Dance, Music, Theatre, and Visual Arts.


At the national level the arts are considered a core content area in the federally mandated No Child Left Behind legislation. This designation acknowledges the arts as being on an equal basis with all other content areas.

At the state level, the New Mexico Content Standards and Benchmarks for the Arts are mandated for students in grades K-8. The Standards are required in the arts electives for participating students in grades 9-12, and the state does have a fine arts or practical arts graduation requirement. Arts and Entertainment has been included as one of seven career clusters endorsed by the Governor’s office for students, K-12, to consider as they become aware of, explore, and experience a variety of career opportunities.

Adopting Authority: 
State Department of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: