North Carolina - Content Standards: Technology

Policy Type: 
Year Adopted: 

During 2009, Instructional Technology staff members worked with LEA representatives and other DPI staff to create Information and Technology Essential Standards for media and technology. These standards were developed using Bloom's Revised Technology and replace the Computer Skills and Information Literacy Standard Courses of Study. The Information and Technology Essential Standards are posted on the ACRE section of the NC Public Schools web site.


These standards are critical building blocks for the education of our students. ITES represent the "must have" information and technology skills and knowledge that each student must have in order to achieve success at the next level. The standards are designed to be delivered by classroom teachers in all curricular areas and grade levels. As the ITES are taught throughout all classrooms and across all curricular areas, it is essential that classroom teachers collaborate with media coordinators and technology facilitators in delivering this instruction. Media coordinators and technology facilitators should be active participants in grade level and/or curricular area planning groups as these teams analyze student data, identify learning goals, plan and deliver instruction, and assess student progress.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: