Tennessee - Content Standards: Mathematics

Policy Type: 
Year Adopted: 

Tennessee updated the math standards in 2010. Mathematics standards for instruction apply to all mathematics courses in all grades K-12.


The Tennessee State Board of Education adopted new state standards in 2010 for mathematics for grades K-8 and the first three high school courses (Algebra 1, Geometry, Algebra 2, and Integrated Math 1, 2, and 3), and in 2014 adopted new standards for the further high school mathematics courses. These standards represent three fundamental shifts: focus, coherence, and rigor.

Focus: The standards are focused on fewer topics so that students can learn more.

Coherence: Topics within a grade are connected to support focus, and learning is built on understandings from previous grades.

Rigor: The standards set expectations for a balanced approach to pursuing conceptual understanding, procedural fluency, and application and modeling.

The eight Standards for Mathematical Practice are an important component of the mathematics standards for each grade and course, K-12.

The Standards for Mathematical Practice describe the varieties of expertise, habits of minds, and productive dispositions that educators seek to develop in all students.

Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.
Reason abstractly and quantitatively.
Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.
Model with mathematics.
Use appropriate tools strategically.
Attend to precision.
Look for and make use of structure.
Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning.
- See more at: https://www.tn.gov/education/article/mathematics-standards#sthash.iazTCj...

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: