Vermont - Content Standards: Arts (Fine Arts)

Arts (Performing)
Policy Type: 
Year Adopted: 

Vermont updated the arts standards in 2016. These include: Dance, Music, Theater, Media Art and Visual Art.


On February 16, 2016, the Vermont State Board of Education approved the adoption of the National Core Arts Standards (NCAS) as Vermont’s new fine arts learning standards. This means that NCAS will replace the Vermont Fine Arts Grade Expectations (GEs) beginning in the 2017-18 school year. Although the GEs will continue to be the guiding standards for Art Educators in the meantime, the AOE recommends that schools and curriculum leaders that are not already using NCAS begin to explore and incorporate them into their curriculum planning processes, in this transition period.

In addition to standards for Dance, Music, Theater, and Visual Art, NCAS includes standards for Media Arts—a discipline that is almost completely unrepresented in the GEs. The NCAS is also structured under an umbrella of 21st century or Transferable Skills; the goal of instruction under NCAS is to cultivate skills like creative and practical problem solving, and inquiry, as explored through any combination of fine arts disciplines (Dance, Media Arts, Music, Theater, Visual Arts). In this way, NCAS is a highly malleable resource for Vermont schools, allowing them to provide a rich fine arts curriculum within a smaller subset of disciplines, or to provide learning opportunities across all five NCAS disciplines, with the development of higher order and discipline-specific skills as the ultimate desired outcomes.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: