New York - Educator Professional Growth and Development: Professional Development

Professional Development
Policy Type: 

New York has adopted 10 standards for professional development: designing professional development, content knowledge and quality teaching, research-based professional learning, collaboration, diverse learning, student learning environments, parent, family and community engagement, data-driven professional practice, technology, and evaluation.


The purpose of the standards is to:
-Provide a clear vision and definition of high-quality, effective professional development that focuses on local district needs and priorities;
-Support the professional development planning process used by public school districts; and
-Align with student learning standards to improve student learning.

Adopting Authority: 
State Department of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: