Iowa - Graduation Requirements: Additional Graduation Requirements

Additional Graduation Requirements
Policy Type: 
Year Adopted: 

Iowa requires 21 additional credits for graduation in Health, Physical Education, Fine Arts, Vocational Education and Foreign Language.


Additional requirements for graduation include the following 21 credits:
-1 unit of Health (Health instruction shall include personal health; food and nutrition; environmental health; safety and survival skills; consumer health; family life; human growth and development; substance abuse and nonuse; emotional and social health; health resources; and prevention and control of disease, including sexually transmitted diseases and acquired immune deficiency syndrome, current crucial health issues, human sexuality, self-esteem, stress management, and interpersonal relationships.);
-1 unit of Physical Education (Physical education shall include the physical fitness activities that increase cardiovascular endurance, muscular strength and flexibility; sports and games; tumbling and gymnastics; rhythms and dance; water safety; leisure and lifetime activities.);
-3 units of Fine Arts (instruction shall include at least two of the following: (1)Dance. (2)Music. (3)Theatre. (4)Visual art.);
-3 units each in at least 4 of the 6 service areas for Vocational Education (A minimum of three sequential units, of which only one may be a core unit, shall be taught in four of the following six service areas: agricultural education, business and office education, health occupations education, home economics education, industrial education, and marketing education. A district may apply for a waiver if an innovative plan for meeting the instructional requirement for the standard is submitted to and approved by the director of the department of education.); and,
-4 units of Foreign Language (The foreign language program shall be a four-unit sequence of uninterrupted study in at least one language. Foreign language instruction shall include listening comprehension appropriate to the level of instruction; rateable oral proficiency; reading comprehension appropriate to the level of instruction; writing proficiency appropriate to the level of instruction and cultural awareness. All high schools shall offer and teach the first two units of the sequence. The third and fourth units must be offered. However, the department of education may, on an annual basis, waive the third and fourth unit requirements upon the request of the board. The board must document that a licensed/certificated teacher was employed and assigned a schedule that would have allowed students to enroll, that the class was properly scheduled, that students were aware of the course offerings, and that no students enrolled.)

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: