California - Student Assessments: Science

Policy Type: 
Year Adopted: 

On September 4, 2013, the State Board of Education adopted the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) for California Public Schools, Kindergarten through Grade Twelve as required by California Education Code Section 60605.85. The NGSS Appendices A–M also were adopted to assist teachers in the implementation of the new science standards and to aid in the development of the new science curriculum framework. The California Department of Education is developing assessments based on the NGSS.


During the transition to new science assessments, the 2014–15 CAASPP System encompasses federally required science assessments in grades 5, 8, and 10 (i.e., California Standards Tests [CSTs], California Modified Assessment [CMA], and California Alternate Performance Assessment [CAPA]). Information is provided about the content, types of questions, participation criteria, and other key targeted resources to assist with understanding the scope and requirements of these science assessments.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: