Connecticut - Student Assessments: English Language Arts

English Language Arts
Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required are: Smarter Balanced, Connecticut Mastery test (standard assessment grades 3-8 for reading, math, writing, and science), Connecticut Academic Performance Test (standards assessment for grade 10 in reading, math, writing, and science)


Connecticut adopted the Smarter Balanced assessment, and also has the Connecticut Mastery test which is a standard assessment for grades 3-8 in reading, math, writing, and science; and the Connecticut Academic Performance Test for grade 10 in reading, math, writing, and science.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: