Florida - Student Assessments: Social Studies

Social Studies
Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required are: Neither Smarter Balanced or PARCC, Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) (grades 3-11, math, reading, science, writing), Florida End-Of-Course (EOC) Assessments began in 2010-2011 school year. (Algebra 1, Biology 1, Geometry, US History, Civics)


Florida opted to not adopt PARCC or Smarter Balanced assessments. Instead, they have the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) which tests math, reading, science, and writing in grades 3 through 11. There is also the Florida End-of-Course (EOC) exam which began in the 2010-2011 school years for Algebra 1, Biology 1, Geometry, US History, and Civics.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: