Illinois - Student Assessments: Science

Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required are: Illinois Standards Achievement Test (reading, math, grades 3-8; science grades 4 and 7), Prairie State Achievement Examination (grade 11: reading, math, science, writing), Illinois Alternative Assessment, PARCC governing member, implementing new examinations in 2014-15 school year (2010)


Illinois is a governing member of PARCC and is currently implementing new examinations (2014-2015 SY). There is the Illinois Standards Achievement Test for reading, and math in grades 3 through 8 and science for grades 4 and 7. There is also the Prairie State Achievement Examination for grade 11 in reading, math, science, and writing.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: