North Carolina - Student Assessments: Arts (Performing)

Arts (Performing)
Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required are: North Carolina Test Program Assessment (Grades 3-8 for Science, Math, ELA and 9-12)


The North Carolina End-of-Grade Tests are designed to measure student performance on the goals, objectives, and grade-level competencies specified in the North Carolina Standard Course of Study. North Carolina's Standard Course of Study defines the appropriate content standards for each grade level and each high school course to provide a uniform set of learning standards for every public school in North Carolina. North Carolina adopted the Common Core State Standards in K-12 Mathematics and K-12 English Language Arts released by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices and the Council of Chief State School Officers. The Essential Standards includes the standards for the newly adopted curriculum in the following areas: English as a Second Language, Science, Social Studies, World Languages, Arts Education and Healthful Living. NCEXTEND2 alternate assessments will no longer be available effective with the 2014-15 school year.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: