North Dakota - Student Assessments: English Language Arts

English Language Arts
Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required are: Smarter Balanced; ND Alternate Assessment; ND State Assessment (reading, math, science, 3-8 and high school)


The North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA), beginning in 2014-15, and extending for the next couple years will be administered in two parts: 1.) Science in grades 4, 8, and 11 during the fall, and 2.) English Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics in grades 3-8 and 11 during the spring. Beginning in 2014-15, the NDSA, English language arts and mathematics assessments will be based on the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium’s model, a multi-state effort to design meaningful performance based assessments.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: