Oregon - Student Assessments: Science

Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required with science components are: Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) (social science, grades 5, 8, 11); OAKS Extended Assessment (3-8 and once in HS); Local Performance Assessment (Math, Writing, Speaking, Scientific Inquiry , 3-8 and once in HS); Smarter Balanced (3-8 and once in HS starting 2014-2015).


Oregon standardized tests measure the progress of students from 3rd grade to 8th grade, and 10th grade. The Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills measures how well students have mastered Oregon Content Standards, and reports student performance in each subject. The OAKS Assessment system is aligned to the 2009 Oregon Science content standards.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: