Pennsylvania - Student Assessments: Mathematics

Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required are: Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (ELA, Math 3-8); Science PSSA (Grade 4 and 8); Keystone Exams (EOC Algebra and ELA); Pennsylvania Alternate System of Assessment (PASA); Pennsylvania Accountability System (PAS); Smarter Balanced (Advisory State).

For more information on the implementation of state assessments see § 4.51. State assessment system (


The Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (PSSA) includes assessments in English Language Arts and Mathematics which are taken by students in grades 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8. Students in grades 4 and 8 are administered the Science PSSA. Keystone Exams are end–of-course assessments in designated content areas. The Algebra I and Literature Keystone Exams include items written to the Assessment Anchors/Eligible Content aligned to the Pennsylvania Core Standards in Mathematics and English Language Arts. The Pennsylvania Alternate System of Assessment (PASA) is a statewide alternate assessment designed for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. The Pennsylvania Accountability System (PAS) applies to all public schools and districts. It is based upon the State's content and achievement standards, valid and reliable measures of academic achievement, and other key indicators of school and district performance such as attendance and graduation rates. The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the national representative assessment of what America's students know and can do in core subject areas.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: 
§ 4.51. State assessment system