South Carolina - Student Assessments: English Language Arts

English Language Arts
Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required are: Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS), grades 3-8 for English Language Arts, Math, Writing, Social Studies, and Science. High School Assessment Program (HSAP). End-Of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) for high school core courses like Algebra, English, biology.


Students in grades 3-8 take the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (SCPASS) tests in writing, English language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. The High School Assessment Program (HSAP) assesses selected South Carolina academic standards in English language arts and mathematics that students have had the opportunity to learn by the end of the tenth grade. Every student must pass the HSAP to graduate from high school unless they meet the qualifications for alternative assessment.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: