South Dakota - Student Assessments: English Language Arts

English Language Arts
Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required are Smarter Balanced (ELA 3-8 and 11) and Dakota STEP Test (Reading 3-8 and 11). Alternate Dakota STEP, WriteToLearn (5,7,10), Alternate Writing Assessment.


South Dakota public school students participate in annual summative testing in English language arts and the results of these tests are included in the state accountability system. In addition to annual tests in English language arts, South Dakota requires assessment of writing annually and provides schools and teachers with resources to utilize other assessments to help identify strengths and areas for improvement.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: