Utah - Student Assessments: English Language Arts

English Language Arts
Policy Type: 

The assessment that is required is SAGE, summative of end-of-year tests measuring ELA in grades 3-8.


The purpose of the ELA and Literacy SAGE is to measure student understanding of the Utah State Standards for English Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects. This is only one measure of student understanding in a standardized manner. It should be interpreted accordingly. The test is composed of a set of questions and writing prompts which require students to demonstrate their skills and knowledge of core concepts in several ways. The ELA and Literacy Core Curriculum consists of content area standards in Reading Informational and Literary Text, Writing, Speaking, Listening, and Language. Data available related to this test includes how the group of students performed in each of the subcategories of the curriculum (standards, Depth of Knowledge, etc.), student proficiency levels, and percent of students in each proficiency level.

CRT, UBSCT, Utah DWA, and ITBS are all standardized tests part of the Utah Performance Assessment System for Students, known as U-PASS. Utah U-PASS tests measure the progress of students from second grade through high school. Utah U-PASS is also used by the Utah State Office of Education (USOE) in evaluating each school’s Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) as required by the federal No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB). The Utah CRT, UBSCT, and Utah DWA assessments are all criterion-referenced tests based on Utah Core Curriculum standards. As criterion-referenced tests, students only compete against him or herself, rather than be compared against other test takers.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: