Utah - Student Assessments: Mathematics

Policy Type: 

The assessment that is required is SAGE, summative end-of-year tests measuring Math in grades 3-8 and secondary math 1,2,3.


The purpose of the Mathematics SAGE is to measure student understanding of the Utah Core Standards for Mathematics. Students take the Mathematics SAGE in grades 3-8 and the Secondary I, II, and III courses. The SAGE is only one measure of student understanding in a standardized manner. It should be interpreted accordingly.

The assessment is composed of a set of test items which require students to demonstrate their skills and knowledge of core concepts in a variety of ways. Data available related to this assessment include how the group of students performed in each of the subcategories of the curriculum (standards, Depth of Knowledge (DOK), etc.), student proficiency levels, and percent of students in each proficiency level. The combination of these data may be used to evaluate and make program decisions for students within a grade level, as a group or at the school, Licensed Education Agency (LEA), and state levels. The information may then be used as a piece of evidence in determining priorities for program and instructional emphasis and refinement.

CRT, UBSCT, Utah DWA, and ITBS are all standardized tests part of the Utah Performance Assessment System for Students, known as U-PASS. Utah U-PASS tests measure the progress of students from second grade through high school. Utah U-PASS is also used by the Utah State Office of Education (USOE) in evaluating each school’s Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) as required by the federal No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB). The Utah CRT, UBSCT, and Utah DWA assessments are all criterion-referenced tests based on Utah Core Curriculum standards. As criterion-referenced tests, students only compete against him or herself, rather than be compared against other test takers.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: