Utah - Student Assessments: Science

Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required are: SAGE, summative of end-of-year tests measuring ELA, Math, and Science in grades 3-8 and secondary math 1,2,3 and biology, earth science, physics, and chemistry.


CRT, UBSCT, Utah DWA, and ITBS are all standardized tests part of the Utah Performance Assessment System for Students, known as U-PASS. Utah U-PASS tests measure the progress of students from second grade through high school. Utah U-PASS is also used by the Utah State Office of Education (USOE) in evaluating each school’s Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) as required by the federal No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB). The Utah CRT, UBSCT, and Utah DWA assessments are all criterion-referenced tests based on Utah Core Curriculum standards. As criterion-referenced tests, students only compete against him or herself, rather than be compared against other test takers.

Adopting Authority: 
State Board of Education
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: