Wisconsin - Student Assessments: English Language Arts

English Language Arts
Policy Type: 

The assessments that are required are: The Smarter Balanced Assessment (Smarter) in grades 3-8 n English Language Arts (ELA); Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM) at grades 3-11 in ELA; ACT Aspire at grades 9 & 10, and The ACT at grade 11 for ELA and Writing.


The federal No Child Left Behind Act required all states to test all students in reading in grades 3 through 8 and once in high school. Student performance on these assessments is reported in proficiency categories and used for accountability determination at the school, district and state levels.

Adopting Authority: 
Chief State School Officer
Implementing Authority: 
State Department of Education
Last Verified by NASBE: