South Dakota: College and Career Policies

The assessments that are required are Smarter Balanced (ELA 3-8 and 11) and Dakota STEP Test (Reading 3-8 and 11). Alternate Dakota STEP, WriteToLearn (5,7,10), Alternate Writing Assessment.

South Dakota adopted new health standards in 2011.

South Dakota adopted standards for mathematics in 2010. These standards are aligned to Common Core Principles.

This includes:
-1 unit of the following-any combination: Approved Career & Technical Education, Capstone Experience or Service Learning, or World Language;
-1 unit of Fine Arts;
-1/2 unit of Personal Finance or Economics;
-1/2 unit of Physical Education; and,
-1/2 unit of Health or Health Integration.

This includes:
-1 unit of Algebra I;
-1 unit of Algebra II; and,
-1 unit of Geometry.

With school and parent/guardian approval, a student may be excused from this course in favor of a more appropriate course. A student may be excused from Algebra II or Geometry, but not both. A student is still required to take three units of Math.

Educators must acquire six credits to renew their certification

South Dakota public school students participate in annual summative testing in mathematics and the results of these tests are included in the state accountability system.

South Dakota adopted Fine Arts standards in 2015. These include standards in dance, music, media, theatre, and visual arts.

South Dakota has standards new physical education standards in 2014.

South Dakota has standards in 9 different content areas including science, social studies, health education standards, physical education standards, educational technology, fine arts, early learning guidance, English language arts, and math.

South Dakota has not adopted any professional development standards.

The South Dakota State Board of Education has full authority to adopt assessments.

South Dakota adopted new science standards in 2015.

Legislature passed law requiring State Board to develop and pass standards, model system. Beginning in the 2014-15 school year, South Dakota public school districts will be required to have teacher effectiveness systems in place. The South Dakota Commission on Teaching and Learning (CTL) has developed a model system that meets ESEA flexibility requirements and encourages meaningful evaluation and development of effective teaching. The CTL’s work builds on that of work groups that started this process in the summer of 2012. However, at its Oct.

This includes:
-1 unit of Biology;
-1 unit of Physical Science; and,
-1 unit of Chemistry or Physics.

If a student is excused from Chemistry or Physics, the student must still take three units of Lab Science.

The purpose of the Teacher Effectiveness Pilot Project in South Dakota is to continually improve instruction and student learning.

South Dakota requires assessment of science and writing annually and provides schools and teachers with resources to utilize other assessments to help identify strengths and areas for improvement.

The South Dakota State Board of Education oversees the teacher certification process within the state.

South Dakota adopted new Social Studies standards in 2015.

In order to become a certified teacher in South Dakota, an applicant must hold a bachelor's degree, complete an approved teacher preparation program, and pass state certification examinations.

This includes:
-1 unit of US history;
-0.5 units of US Government;
-0.5 units of World History; and,
-0.5 units of Geography.

The South Dakota State Board of Education establishes the standards for teacher preparation programs.

The board and the department shall jointly work to develop standards and practices that ensure that, by the third grade, all children, to the best of their abilities, have learned fundamental reading, mathematics, language, science, and technology skills that form the foundation for further learning. The board and the department shall work together to develop standards and practices that ensure that, by completion of the twelfth grade, all students, to the best of their abilities, have learned the educational and personal skills that will allow them to enter adulthood as responsible members of society. (13-1-43)

In order to be an accredited teacher preparation program, programs must meet preparation standards outlined in chapter 24:53:02.

In order to renew a certificate, teachers must complete six credits of professional development.

The standards for English Language Arts are the culmination of an extended, broad-based effort to fulfill the charge issued by the states to create the next generation of K–12 standards in order to help ensure that all students are college and career ready in literacy no later than the end of high school. They were adopted in 2015, and align to Common Core.

South Dakota adopted new technology standards in 2015.

This includes:
-1.5 units of writing;
-1.5 units of Literature (including .5 units of American Literature);
-0.5 units of speech or debate; and,
-0.5 elective units.

The State Board of Education has authority over the adoption of Career and Technical Education Standards.