Oregon - Preventive health screenings in ES: Standards

Area: 
Standards
Policy Type: 
statute; regulation
Summary: 

State law requires a health screening prior to entry (which may or may not specifically include one of the exams listed below).

Oregon Revised Statutes 336.211 Vision screenings and eye examinations; reimbursements; rules.

(2)(a) Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, each education provider shall require a student who is seven years of age or younger and who is beginning an educational program with the education provider for the first time to submit certification that the student received:

  • (A) A vision screening or an eye examination; and
  • (B) Any further examinations or necessary treatments of the eye or assistance of the powers or range of vision of the eye.

Oregon Revised Statutes 336.213 Dental screenings; reports; rules.

(2)(a) Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, each education provider shall require a student who is seven years of age or younger and who is beginning an educational program with the education provider for the first time to submit certification that the student received a dental screening within the previous 12 months.


Oregon Administrative Rules 581-021-0031

(2) Each education provider must:

  • (a) Require a student who is age seven or younger and entering an educational program for the first time to submit certification within 120 days of the student beginning school, that the student received:
    • (A) A vision screening or an eye examination; and
    • (B) Any further eye examinations or necessary treatments or assistance of the powers or range of vision of the eye.
      Source: Oregon Secretary of State
Policy Links: