Wyoming - Chronic Absenteeism Early Warning Systems: Programs and Services (S/D)

Area: 
Programs And Services
Policy Type: 
Statute
Summary: 

Topic is not addressed in state laws or limited to notification and transfers to law enforcement.

Wyoming Statutes § 21-4-105. Penalty for failure of parent, guardian or custodian to comply with article.

Any parent, guardian or custodian of any child to whom this article applies who willfully fails, neglects, or refuses to comply with the provisions of this article shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than five dollars ($5.00) nor more than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) or by imprisonment in the county jail not more than ten (10) days or by both such fine and imprisonment.


Wyoming Statutes § 21-4-107. Notice to district attorney of habitual truancy; duty of district attorney.

When the board of trustees of any school district shall determine that a child is an habitual truant as defined by this article the board or its attendance officer shall notify the district attorney who shall then initiate proceedings in the interest of the child under the Juvenile Court Act [§§14-6-201 through 14-6-252].


Wyoming Statutes § 21-4-103. Enforcement of article; appointment and compensation of attendance officers.

The primary responsibility for the enforcement of this article shall be upon the board of trustees of the school district, which shall appoint an attendance officer or officers to carry out the provisions of this article. Said officer shall be paid out of the district treasury such sum as may be provided in the order of appointment.


Wyoming Statutes § 21-4-104. Duties of attendance officers.

(a) Subject to the policy of the board of trustees, it shall be the duty of each attendance officer to:

  • (i) Counsel with students, parents, guardians or custodians and teachers; and to investigate the causes of unexcused absences;
  • (ii) Give written notice to the parent, guardian, or custodian of any child having an unexcused absence that the attendance of such child at school is required by law. If after such notice has been given, the child has a second unexcused absence, which the attendance officer reasonably believes was due to the willful neglect or failure of the parent, guardian, or custodian of the child, then he shall make and file a complaint against such parent, guardian, or custodian of such child before the district court for the violation of W.S. 21-4-102.
Policy Links: