Outline of the state of North Carolina
North Carolina

School Counseling Elementary Grade Levels—K-8

School Counseling Elementary Grade Levels—K-8

State law requires the provision of school counseling or guidance services in elementary grade levels (K-8).

North Carolina Administrative Code 16-06D.0401 Required Support Programs

Each LEA shall provide its students support services in the following areas:

  • (1) Pre-school physical and developmental screening;
  • (2) School counseling services;
  • (3) School social work services;
  • (4) School psychological services; and
  • (5) Health services.
Policy Type

North Carolina General Statutes 115C-316.1. Duties of school counselors

(a) School counselors shall implement a comprehensive developmental school counseling program in their schools. Counselors shall spend at least eighty percent (80%) of their work time providing direct services to students. Direct services do not include the coordination of standardized testing. Direct services shall consist of: (1) Delivering the school guidance curriculum through large group guidance, interdisciplinary curriculum development, group activities, and parent workshops. (2) Guiding individual student planning through individual or small group assistance and individual or small group advisement. (3) Providing responsive services through consultation with students, families, and staff; individual and small group counseling; crisis counseling; referrals; and peer facilitation. (4) Performing other student services listed in the Department of Public Instruction school counselor job description that has been approved by the State Board of Education. (b) School counseling program support activities do not include the coordination of standardized testing. During the remainder of their work time, school counselors may assist other staff with the coordination of standardized testing.

Policy Type