New Hampshire - Firearms/Weapons on School Campuses: Prohibitions or Restrictions
New Hampshire Revised Statutes 193-D:4 Written Report Required.
- (a) Any public or private school employee who has witnessed or who has information from the victim of an act of theft, destruction, or violence in a safe school zone shall report such act in writing immediately to a supervisor. A supervisor receiving such report shall immediately forward such information to the school principal who shall file it with the local law enforcement authority. Such report shall be made by the principal to the local law enforcement authority immediately, by telephone or otherwise, and shall be followed within 48 hours by a report in writing. If the alleged victim is a student, the principal shall also immediately notify the person responsible for the victim's welfare, as defined in RSA 169-C:3, XXII, that a report was made to the local law enforcement authority.
- (b) The provisions of subparagraph (a) shall not apply to any simple assault involving pupils in kindergarten through grade 12 if the local school board has adopted a discipline policy which sets forth circumstances under which parents shall be notified of simple assaults.
- (c) Each school district, in conjunction with the local law enforcement authority, shall establish a memorandum of understanding for administering the provisions of RSA 193-D:4, I(a)-(c).
II. The report required under paragraph I shall include:
- (a) The name and home address, if known, of any person suspected of committing an act of theft, destruction, or violence in a safe school zone.
- (b) The name and home address, if known, of any witness to the act of theft, destruction, or violence in a safe school zone.
- (c) Identification of the act of theft, destruction, or violence as defined in RSA 193-D:1 that was allegedly committed.
New Hampshire Revised Statutes 193:13 Suspension and Expulsion of Pupils.
III. Any pupil who brings or possesses a firearm as defined in section 921 of Title 18 of the United States Code in a safe school zone as defined in RSA 193-D:1 without written authorization from the superintendent or designee shall be expelled from school by the local school board for a period of not less than 12 months.
IV. The local school board shall adopt a policy which allows the superintendent or chief administering officer to modify the expulsion requirements set forth in paragraphs II and III on a case by case basis.
V. Any pupil expelled by a local school board under the provisions of the Gun-Free Schools Act of 1994 shall not be eligible to enroll in another school district in New Hampshire for the period of such expulsion. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the local school district that expelled the student from providing educational services to such students in an alternative setting.
VI. A pupil expelled from school in another state under the provisions of the Gun-Free Schools Act of 1994 shall not be eligible to enroll in a school district in New Hampshire for the period of such expulsion.
VII. For purposes of paragraphs I, II, and III, school board may be either the school board or a subcommittee of the board duly authorized by the school board.