Outline of the state of Delaware

School Counseling Secondary Grade Levels—9-12

School Counseling Secondary Grade Levels—9-12

State law requires the provision of school counseling or guidance services in secondary grade levels (9-12).

Delaware Administrative Code 14-545 K to 12 School Counseling Programs.

1.0 Definitions

  • "American School Counselor Association" or "ASCA" means the national organization that supports school counselors' efforts to help students focus on academic, career and social/emotional development so they achieve success in school and are prepared to lead fulfilling lives as responsible members of society.

  • "ASCA National Model" means a framework for implementing a comprehensive, data driven school counseling program. The model identifies K-12 College- and Career- Readiness Standard for every student in the domains of academic, career and social/emotional development. The model is made up of four components: Define, Manage, Deliver and Assess.

Policy Type